AccNoir-2007-08, Giddy Good Show

Posted on 1 September, 2007 - 22:11 byBruce Triggs

Accordion Noir: Playlist: August 31, 2007
This is a good one!

CFRO Co-op Radio in Vancouver, BC, Canada
102.7 FM 9:30-10:30 PM
http://www.coopradio.org/ for web-streaming worldwide.

With more Rowan! A giddy show of shows-coming-to-town and bands we like.

Artist -- Album (label, contact if known) -- Song -- Origin -- Date

Lisa Maxx (live in spontaneous studio!) -- Still Hold True, www.lisamaxx.com -- Farđu Draumaveginn -- Salt Spring Island, Canada/Iceland -- 2006
Brave Combo -- Polkas for a Gloomy World (Rounder), www.brave.com/bo (funny) -- Potato Chip Polka -- Denton, Texas -- 1995
Madonna/Gogol Bordello -- Live Earth Live -- La Isla Bonita/Lela Pala Tute -- 2007
Gogol Bordello -- Voi-la, www.gogolbordello.com -- God-like -- 2002
Rowan Lipkovits (Harry Belafonte) -- Zombie Jamboree (Wow, so many cultures rolled into one rotting heap!)
Blackberry Wood (Salmon Avalanche acc.) www.myspace.com/blackberrywood
-- Johnny Was A Race Car Driver -- Vancouver, BC, Canada -- 2006
Wendy McNeil -- Such a Common Bird, www.wendymcneill.com -- Such a Common Bird -- (pretty pretty) -- (NOT) PLAYING VANCOUVER opening for Brendan Macleod (of the Fugitives) (show got CANCELLED) -- Ontario, Canada -- 2006
Alex Genin, www.myspace.com/alexgenin -- Skinny Rowan -- Brooklyn, NY, USA
translation: why stand you there shaking, skinny little rowan? bowing your head and quaking to the veryground. out across the road, over the wide, wide river, likewise solitary, an oak tree stands there lonely. how can that poor rowan get over to the oak tree? then she would stop her shaking, bowing her head and quaking. with her skinny branches she would embrace him. and with all her folliage, day and night she'd whisper. but there is no way for the rowan to get to the oak tree. knowing her fate is such that for a century she'll be lonely. that poor orphan knowing for a century she'll be lonely..........
it's a very old song.
Rowan Lipkovits (Metric) -- Dead Disco
Martin White (Radiohead) -- Paranoid Android (Rowan tells me this will flip the kids, I must be so far out I don't know what's far out any more?)
Katzen Kapell -- (self-titled, Twin Music) www.myspace.com/katzenkapell
) -- Älkvinnans Bekännélser -- Swedish Tango! -- 1994
Swinka Halinka, www.myspace.com/swinkahalinka -- Szarika Marika -- Lubin, Zlotoryja,
Poland
Ana Bon-Bon -- Bare Naked Blues (New Album!) www.myspace.com/anabonbon
-- Bees -- British Columbia, Canada -- 2007

"In three or four years, people are going to be embarrassed to admit they took guitar lessons as a kid." --Jason Webley

» download audio file | 22772 downloads | 32 plays